WAUPACA COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS ADJOURNED ORGANIZATIONAL SESSION MAY 5, 2020

This meeting is conducted under the directives of Governor Evers' Executive Order #72, Secretary-designee Palm's Emergency Orders #12 ("Safer at Home") and #34 (Extension of "Safer at Home") and Waupaca County's Emergency Declaration Resolution #38 (2019-2020).

County Clerk Jill Lodewegen called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. with Suprs. Bosquez, Boyer, M. Craig, P. Craig, Federwitz, Golding, Hardy, Jaeger, Johnson, Koeppen, Kussmann, Lehrer, McClone, Morack, Much, G. Murphy, Neumann, Nygaard, Poehlman, Rohan, Spierings, Wengelski, Will, and Zaug present. Suprs. Ellis and Ritchie were excused. Supr. T. Murphy was absent.

Clerk Lodewegen made the opening statement that this meeting and all other meetings of this board are open to the public. Proper notice has been posted and given to the press, in accordance with Wisconsin Statutes so the citizenry may be aware of the time, place and agenda of this meeting.

A moment of silent meditation was observed followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Clerk Lodewegen reaffirmed the Oath of Office for the Waupaca County Board of Supervisors and they received their Certificate of Election.

DuWayne Federwitz Dennis Kussmann Dick Koeppen Dennis Wengelski Lee Much Dick Rohan Janet Lehrer Jim Nygaard Kevin Will Joyce Boyer Mary Kay Poehlman Joe McClone Gerald Murphy Sue Golding David L. Johnson Patricia Craig Jack Spierings Cindy Hardy
, ,
Peter Bosquez
Ken Jaeger
David Morack

District 24: Fred Zaug

District 25: David Neumann District 27: Mary Craig

Supr. Lehrer moved and Supr. Morack seconded the motion to approve the agenda. Motion carried without a negative vote. Passed the 5th day of May, 2020.

Supr. Poehlman moved and Supr. Johnson seconded the motion to approve the minutes of the April 21, 2020 meeting. Motion carried without a negative vote. Passed the 5th day of May, 2020.

ELECTION OF THE COUNTY BOARD CHAIR

Supr. Zaug nominated Supr. Koeppen for County Board Chair. Clerk Lodewegen called three times for any further nominations from the floor. There were none. Supr. P. Craig moved and Supr. Nygaard seconded the motion to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Supr. Koeppen. The motion carried without a negative vote. Clerk Lodewegen turned the meeting over to County Board Chair Dick Koeppen. County Board Chair Koeppen thanked the Board for their support.

ELECTION OF THE COUNTY BOARD VICE CHAIR

Supr. Morack nominated Supr. Poehlman for County Board Vice Chair. Supr. Kussmann nominated Supr. Federwitz for County Board Vice Chair. Chr. Koeppen called three times for nominations from the floor. There were no additional nominations. Supr. Zaug moved and Supr. Lehrer seconded the motion to close nominations. Secret ballots were cast. Supr. Poehlman received 15 votes and Supr. Federwitz received 9 votes. Supr. Poehlman was declared the winner and Vice Chair Poehlman thanked the Board for their support.

ELECTION OF THE HIGHWAY COMMITTEE

Chair Koeppen called for nominations for the Highway Committee with five positions to be voted on individually.

Supr. Boyer nominated Supr. McClone to the Highway Committee. Chair Koeppen called three times for any further nominations from the floor. There were none. Supr. Zaug moved and Supr. Spierings seconded the motion to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Supr. McClone. The motion carried without a negative vote. Passed the 5th day of May, 2020. Supr. McClone thanked the Board for their support.

Supr. Kussmann nominated Supr. Much to the Highway Committee. Chair Koeppen called three times for any further nominations from the floor. There were none. Supr. Zaug moved and Supr. Nygaard seconded the motion to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Supr. Much. The motion carried without a negative vote. Passed the 5th day of May, 2020. Supr. Much thanked the Board for their support.

Supr. Johnson nominated Supr. Rohan to the Highway Committee. Chair Koeppen called three times for any further nominations from the floor. There were none. Supr. P. Craig moved and Supr. Zaug seconded the motion to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Supr. Rohan. The motion carried without a negative vote. Passed the 5th day of May, 2020. Supr. Rohan thanked the Board for their support.

Supr. Kussmann nominated Supr. Zaug to the Highway Committee. Chair Koeppen called three times for any further nominations from the floor. There were none. Supr. Nygaard moved and Supr. Morack seconded the motion to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Supr. Zaug. The motion carried without a negative vote. Passed the 5th day of May, 2020. Supr. Zaug thanked the Board for their support.

Supr. Lehrer nominated Supr. Nygaard to the Highway Committee. Chair Koeppen called three times for any further nominations from the floor. There were none. Supr. Zaug moved and Supr. G. Murphy seconded the motion to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Supr. Nygaard. The motion carried without a negative vote. Passed the 5th day of May, 2020. Supr. Nygaard thanked the Board for their support.

Chair Koeppen appointed his Committee on Committees: Co. Bd. Chair Koeppen, Vice Chair Poehlman, Supr. Nygaard, Supr. Kussmann, Supr. G. Murphy, Supr. Zaug, and Supr. Federwitz. The Committee on Committees will meet after this regular meeting in County Board Room 1068.

AMEND GENERAL CODE OF ORDINANCE CHAPTER 1 – GENERAL GOVERNMENT

Clerk Lodewegen reviewed the amendments to Chapter 1. Supr. Zaug moved and Supr. Lehrer seconded the motion to approve the amendments to Chapter 1, General Government, of the Waupaca County Code of Ordinances. Motion carried without a negative vote. Passed the 5th day of May, 2020.

REPEAL AND RECREATE GENERAL CODE OF ORDINANCE CHAPTER 2 – THE GOVERNING BODY

Clerk Lodewegen explained that all amendments to Chapter 2 were presented to the Legislative & Judicial and Executive Committees. There was discussion regarding the wording in Section 2.15 (G) which reads: "Law Enforcement Committee: Five member committee, made up of county board supervisors, created by Resolution Number 5, 1939-1940, which may include the County Board Chairperson. This committee is responsible to review the Sheriff's Office, E911 and the Medical Examiner's Office activities." Supr. Kussmann moved and Supr. McClone seconded the motion to strike the word Five and replace it with Six. Roll call vote: Bosquez - nay, Boyer - nay, M. Craig - nay, P. Craig - yes, Federwitz - nay, Golding - nay, Hardy - nay, Jaeger - nay, Johnson - yes, Koeppen - yes, Kussmann - yes, Lehrer - yes, McClone - yes, Morack - nay, Much - yes, G. Murphy - yes, Neumann - nay, Nygaard - nay, Poehlman - nay,

Rohan - nay, Spierings - yes, Wengelski - nay, Will - nay, and Zaug – yes. Motion did not pass.

Supr. Poehlman moved and Supr. Bosquez seconded the motion to strike the word Five and replace it with Six and to strike out "which may include the County Board Chairperson". Motion carried without a negative vote. Passed the 5th day of May, 2020.

Supr. Bosquez moved and Supr. McClone seconded the motion to repeal and recreate Chapter 2, The Governing Body, of the Waupaca County Code of Ordinances as amended. Motion carried without a negative vote. Passed the 5th day of May, 2020.

Supr. Lehrer moved and Supr. Kussmann seconded the motion to adjourn. Chair Koeppen declared the meeting adjourned at 10:45 a.m.

Jill Lodewegen Waupaca County Clerk